I wasn't planning on blogging till tomorrow. But my son Jake is driving me effing crazy. He's so much like me. And sometimes I really hate it.
When I was in school (well, even now sometimes) I did exceptionally well when I applied myself. When I didn't, I failed miserably. My report cards looked like one of that of someone with a split personality. One quarter would be A's and B's. The next would be D's and F's. I knew I had no one to blame but myself. I knew I could do well above expectations, I just sometimes chose not to.
Jake is the same way.
At present time, he is getting A's and B's in all of his classes - except two. And the two that he's failing are with the same teacher. And he's not just failing. He has like 37% F's. It's horrible. I'll tell you why. He had a sub for the first month of classes. He didn't take it seriously.
I had a conference with him and the teacher a couple weeks ago and she assured him that if he turned in his missing work and studied for his tests, he'd be able to bring it up to a C. I told him he's lucky to have a teacher who allows him to redeem himself.
However, he chooses not to. I was able to get him to catch up on the biggest point assignments. He tells me he's studying when he's in his room. He's doing his homework. (feel that cool breeze? it's called smoke up your ass)
I just quizzed him on his spelling words for the test he has on Friday. Like he does every Friday. Out of 24 words, he got one right. And it wasn't even like he was almost correct. He spelled intentionally as intenshunaly. Really Son??
I have tried so much. No computer, no TV, no Nintendo DS, no going out with friends. My last resort, I think, is to sit over him while he does his homework.
But I absolutely refuse to do that. I know that times are different from when I was a kid. But when I was 12, I was responsible enough to do my homework without being hovered over. I was raised to take responsibility for myself. I firmly believe that in order for someone to do the same, they have to be presented the opportunity to do so. Jake is well aware that if he doesn't pass these two classes that he will either repeat the grade or at the least have to go to summer school. I've tried so hard to get him to be responsible. So now I've decided that he is the maker of his fate.
I'm sure that makes me a bad parent in some peoples' eyes. And for the most part, I'm ok with that. We're all entitled to our opinions. But I refuse to raise a spoiled kid who blames everyone else for his actions. There was way too many of those out there.
Thursday, November 12, 2009
wasting time by Louise
Posted by Thelma and Louise at 8:32 PM
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)

0 comments:
Post a Comment